UFT Class 18

UFT Class 18

(Inserting Checkpoints Part -1)

UFT Test Process
Enhancing Tests
Inserting Checkpoints

What is Checkpoint?

It is a verification point, takes expected result from the User(Tester), compares with actual Results and provides Test Result.

Types of Checkpoints (9 + 3)

1) Standard Checkpoint

It checks object properties values.

2) Text Checkpoint

It checks text value of an object in different ways

3) Text area Checkpoint

It checks text area present in the Application in different ways

4) Bitmap Checkpoint

It compares two bitmaps

5) Database Checkpoint

It checks content of a Database Table cell wise.

6) Accessibility Checkpoint

It checks weather the web page was developed according to W3C standards or not?

7) XML Checkpoint (From Application)

It checks content of XML page.

8) XML Checkpoint (From Resource)

It checks content of XML file.

9) File content Checkpoint

It checks content of a text file.

10) Page Checkpoint

It checks number of Links, number of images in a webpage and creation time of the Page.

11) Image Checkpoint

It checks Image object Properties and values.

12) Table Checkpoint

It checks content of a web table cell wise.
Note 1: from 6 to 12 checkpoints (except File content and XML (From Resource) checkpoints) are only for Web applications

Note 2: From 10 to 12 Checkpoints are hidden Checkpoints, using Standard Checkpoint we can insert them.

Note 3: Database, File Content and XML (From Resource) Checkpoints are Back-end Checkpoints

Note 4: We can insert multiple Checkpoints in a Test.

Note 5: We can Edit and delete Checkpoints.
We can insert standard checkpoints using Editor view or Using Keyword view or using Active screen.

Inserting Checkpoints IN UFT Testing

Insert Standard Checkpoint:

Identify the Object and Property on which we need insert Standard checkpoint.

Select Record mode

> Design menu

> Checkpoint

> Standard Checkpoint

> Take hand icon and show the object

> Select Property

> Enter expected result > OK

Edit Standard Checkpoint:

Select Checkpoint statement and Right click

> Modify the value

> OK

Delete Standard Checkpoint:

> Select Checkpoint statement and right click

> Delete


VbWindow(“CALCULATOR”).VbEdit(“VALUE1”).Set “10”
VbWindow(“CALCULATOR”).VbEdit(“VALUE2”).Set “20”

VbWindow(“CALCULATOR”).VbEdit(“RESULT”).Check CheckPoint(“RESULT”)

VbWindow(“CALCULATOR”).VbEdit(“RESULT”).Check CheckPoint(“RESULT_2”)

VbWindow(“CALCULATOR”).VbEdit(“RESULT”).Check CheckPoint(“RESULT_3”)

VbWindow(“CALCULATOR”).VbEdit(“RESULT”).Check CheckPoint(“RESULT_4”)

Configure Accessibility Checkpoint

Tools menu

> Options

> GUI Testing

> Web > Advanced

> Check / Uncheck check boxes

> OK

Result Criteria:

Check item available and according W3C Standards then pass

Check item available and Not according W3C Standards then fail

Check item Not available then pass

Follow me on social media: