Software Testing Terminology for Beginners and Experienced

In this post I covered Software Testing Terminology from Software Development Life Cycle to Software Testing Life Cycle. IT is for Software Testing Fresher as well as Experienced.

1) Coding – A Phase in Software Development Life Cycle

(Other phases in SDLC are, Requirement gathering and analysis, Design, Implementation or coding, Testing, Deployment, Maintenance)

(Other Models for Software Development are, Waterfall Model, Iterative Model, Spiral Model, V-Model, Big Bang Model etc,)

2) Agile – Software Development Life Cycle Model

(Other Models for Software Development are, Waterfall Model, Iterative Model, Spiral Model, V-Model, Big Bang Model etc,)

3) Integration Testing – Software Test Level

(Other Levels for Software Testing are, Unit Testing, System Testing, and Acceptance Testing)

Four Levels of Testing for general software applications and Five Levels of Testing for Distributed Software Applications.

Five levels of Testing,

Unit Testing, Component Integration Testing, System Testing, System Integration Testing and Acceptance Testing.

4) Database Testing – Software Test Type

We have four types of Testing, Functional Testing, Non Functional Testing, Change Related Testing and Structural Testing,

Database Testing is a subset of Functional testing and also Performance Testing

Important Test Types are Functional Testing and Non-functional Testing, and we have so many sub types of Non-functional testing, Performance Testing, Usability Testing, Reliability Testing, Availability Testing, Configuration testing etc,

5) Decision Table Testing – Test Design Technique

A Black box Test Design Technique, Other Black Box Test Design Techniques are, Equivalence Partitioning.
Boundary Value Analysis, State Transition Testing, and Use Case Testing

Three Types of Software Test Design Techniques, White Box Test Design Techniques, Black Box Test Design Techniques, and Experience-Based techniques.

White Box Test design techniques are, Statement Testing, Condition Testing and Decision Testing etc,

Experienced based techniques are Exploratory Testing, Error Guessing.

6) Test Planning – Phase of Software Test Life Cycle/Software Test Process

Other Phases in Software Test Life Cycle are,
Requirement Analysis,
Test case development,
Test Environment setup,
Test Execution,
Test Cycle closure,

7) Test Policy– Test Document (Company Level)

8) RTM – Test Document (Project Level)

Important Test Documents are,
Test policy,
Test strategy
Test plan
Requirements Traceability Matrix
Test Scenario
Test case
Test Data
Defect Report
Test summary report

9) Test Environment – A Setup for Test Execution

Hardware, Software and Network Configured for Test Execution

Software Test Environment is required for both Manual Testing and Automated Testing to execute Tests. System Admins, Software Developers and Software Testers involve in Software Test Environment setup & maintenance.

10) Smoke Testing – A Level of Test Execution

Other Levels of Test Execution are,
Comprehensive Testing,
Sanity Testing,
Re & Regression Testing

Software Testing Tutorial
Software Testing Terminology for Beginners and Experienced

11) Ad-hoc Testing – An Informal Testing Type

Due to lack of documentation, time and budget we may go for Informal Testing, in Informal Testing no test documentation.

12) Static Testing – A Software Testing Method

Static Testing that involves examination of the program’s code and its associated documentation but does not require the program be executed.

Static Test Techniques are,
Informal Review
Technical Review,

Note: Another Software Test Method is Dynamic Testing

13) Failure

Terminology varies from one area to another,

If find any deviation from expected,
Development – Error or Mistake

Testing – Defect or Bug or Fault

Production – Failure

14) IEEE829 – Software Test Documentation Standard

A standard for the format of documents used in different stages of software testing.
IEEE Stands for Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and It is US based organization.

15) ISTQB – Software Testing Certifications Board

International Software Testing Qualifications Board is a software testing certification board that operates internationally. It is UK based organization.

ISTQB certifications on Manual Testing only, but it has different levels of certifications like Foundation Level, Advanced level and Expert Level.

For Automated Testing Test Tool Vendors conduct certification, ex: Micro Focus conduct certification exams for UFT, ALM and LoadRunner

Follow me on social media: