Manual Testing Syllabus

Manual Testing Syllabus, Software Development Life Cycle, Software Testing Life Cycle, Test Planning, Test Design, Test Execution, and Test Cycle Closure.

Manual Testing Course Syllabus

Manual Testing Syllabus Overview:

Manual Testing Syllabus, Software Testing is an important phase of the Software Development Life Cycle, Software Testing can be done in two ways, one is Manual Testing and another is Automated Testing or Test Automation.

Manual Testing is the process in which requirements are analyzed and understood, Test scenarios are derived, Test cases are documented, Test cases are executed, and the defects are identified, isolated, subjected for justification and ensure that the product is defect-free, in order to produce quality product.

However it requires the knowledge such as about different phases of Software development life cycle, different types of Manual Testing, and different phases of Software test life cycle.

Manual Testing Objectives:

> Understanding that what is Software testing?
> Understanding Software development process.
> Understanding various Software development life cycle models.
> Understanding the Role of Software testing phase in Software development
> Understanding various Software test types.
> Understanding various Software test levels.
> Understanding Software test design techniques.
> Understanding Software test life cycle
> Understanding that how to create & execute test plan
> Understanding that how to document test cases
> Understanding that how to execute test cases and finding defects.
> Tracking defects, confirmation testing, and closing the defects.
> Documenting of the test reports and test enclosure activities.

Prerequisites and eligibility to learn Manual Testing:

> Basic Knowledge of Computer operating.
> Documentation knowledge and analysis skills.
> Beginners who want to start their career in the Software Testing field.
> Already a tester, You can refresh all your testing basics and techniques and gear up for Certifications in Software Testing.
> Fresh Graduates, If you have passed out of college recently, and looking for a job in QA/Testing field.
> If you are interested in IT, but not interested in programming or find it difficult, then Testing allows you focus less on programming and more on analysis skills.
> Non-IT Professionals, If you are currently working in some other field, but interested in building a career in IT.

Manual Testing Syllabus

1) Software Testing Introduction

> What is Software testing?
> Importance of Software testing
> How to conduct Software testing.
> Basic terminology of Software testing
> Manual Testing Process
> Difference between Manual and Automated Testing
> Software testing Roles and Responsibilities

2) Software Development Life Cycle and various SDLC Models

Phases of Software Development Life Cycle

i) Requirements Phase.
ii) Analysis Phase.
iii) Design phase.
iv) Coding Phase.
v) Testing phase.
vi) Release and Maintenance Phase.

Software Development Life Cycle Models

i) Waterfall Model.
ii) V Model
iii) Agile Model.
iv) Prototype Model.
v) Spiral Model.

3) Test Case Design Techniques

Static Techniques:

i) Informal Reviews
ii) Walkthroughs
iii) Technical Reviews
iv) Inspection

Dynamic Techniques:

a) Black-box Test Techniques

i) Equivalence Partitioning
ii) Boundary Value Analysis
iii) Decision Table Testing
iv) State Transition Testing
v) Use Case Testing

b) White-box Test Techniques

i) Statement Coverage Testing
ii) Branch Coverage Testing
iii) Path Coverage Testing
iv) Conditional Coverage Testing
v Loop Coverage Testing

c) Experience-based Test Techniques

i) Error Guessing
ii) Exploratory Testing
iii) Checklist-based Testing

4) Levels and Types of Software Testing

Four Levels of Testing

i) Unit Testing
ii) Integration Testing
iii) System Testing
iv) Acceptance Testing

Types of Testing

i) Functional Testing

Unit Testing
Integration Testing
System Testing
User Acceptance Testing.
Sanity/Smoke Testing.
Re & Regression Testing.

Functional Testing is a Test type, and Unit Testing, Integration Testing, System Testing and Acceptance Testing are the Test levels.

Functional Testing is conducted in all Test Levels (Unit, Integration, System, and Acceptance Testing)

Sanity and Smoke Testing are Test Execution levels of Functional Testing

Retesting and Regression are for Change related Testing.

ii) Non Functional Testing

Performance Testing. (Load, Stress, Spike and Endurance Testing)
Usability Testing
Compatibility Testing
Reliability Testing
Security Testing
Cookies Testing
Session Testing
Recovery Testing
Installation Testing
Adhoc Testing.
Risk Based Testing.
I18N Testing.
L1ON Testing.
Compliance Testing.

5) Software Testing Life Cycle

i) Requirements Analysis/Design

Understand the requirements
Prepare Traceability Matrix

ii) Test Planning

iii) Test Case Design

Derive Test Scenarios
Document Test cases
Collect Test data
Review Test cases

iv) Test Environment Setup

v) Test Execution

Sanity Testing – Initial build acceptance testing
Comprehensive Testing – executing all possible test cases
Reporting and Tracking Defects

Regression Test Cycle 1
Sanity Testing…
Re testing Regression Testing
Reporting and Tracking Defects

Regression Test Cycle 2
Sanity Testing…
Re testing Regression Testing
Reporting and Tracking Defects
Final Regression

vi) Test Cycle Closure

Focus on:

Software Test Documents

1) Test Policy

2) Test Strategy

3) Requirements Traceability Matrix

4) Test Plan

5) Test Case

6) Defect Report

7) Test Metrics

8) Test Summary Report

Software Testing Standards

1) ISO Software Testing Standards

2) IEEE Standard for Software Test Documentation

3) ANSI Standards for Software


Manual Testing Full Tutorial

Python Programming Language Syllabus

Java Programming Language Syllabus

SQL Syllabus

Selenium Syllabus

Python Language Syllabus

JMeter Syllabus

Follow me on social media: