Software Testing Terminology

Software Testing Terminology, Software Development Life Cycle, Software Test Levels, Test Types, Test Design Techniques, Software Testing Life Cycle, and Informal Testing.

1. Phases of SDLC (Requirements Gathering, Analysis & Planning, Design, Coding, Testing, Release & Maintenance)

2. SDLC Models (Waterfall Model, V Model, Spiral Model, Agile Model, etc,)

3. Test Levels (Unit Testing, Integration Testing, System Testing, and Acceptance Testing)

4. Test Types (Functional Testing, Non-functional Testing, Re & Regression Testing, and Structural Testing)

5. Test Design Techniques (White box, Black box, and Experience-based)

6. Phases of STLC (Requirements Analysis, Test Planning, Test Design, Test Environment Setup, Test Execution, and Test Cycle Closure)

7. Test Documents (Test Policy, Test Strategy, Test Plan, Test Scenario, Test Case, Defect Report, Test Metrics Report, and Test Summary Report)

Software Testing Important Terminology

1. SDLC (Software Design Life Cycle)

ISO/IEC 12207 is an international standard for software life-cycle processes. It defines all the tasks required for developing and maintaining software.

Software Development Life Cycle is a systematic approach for developing software. It is a Process followed by Software Developers, and Software Testing is an integral part of Software Development.

Phases of SDLC are Requirement Gathering, Analysis, Design, Coding, Testing, Deployment & Maintenance.

2. Test Level

Test Level: A specific instantiation of a test process.

Software testing can be performed at different levels of the software development process. Performing testing activities at multiple levels help in early identification of bugs and better quality of software product.

There are mainly four Levels of Testing in software testing, Unit Testing, Integration Testing, System Testing, and Acceptance Testing.

3. Test Type

A Test type is a group of test activities aimed at testing specific characteristics of a software system or a part of a system.

Test Type: A Test type is a group of test activities aimed at testing specific characteristics of a software system or a part of a system.

We have four types of Testing, Functional testing, Non-functional testing, Structural testing, and Change-related testing.

4. Test Design Technique

A test design technique is used to select a good set of tests from all possible tests for a given system.

We have static and dynamic test design techniques in Software Testing. White box, black box, and experienced-based techniques are there in dynamic testing, and Equivalence partition, boundary value analysis, decision table testing, state transition testing, and use case testing are important for dynamic testing.

5. STLC (Software Test Life Cycle)

Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) is a sequence of different activities performed during the software testing process.

Software testing life cycle contains various phases, which are Requirement Analysis, Test Planning, Test Case development, Test Environment Setup, Test Execution, and Test Cycle Closure.

6. Informal Testing

Informal Testing: Ad hoc testing performed without a documented set of objectives or plans. Informal testing relies on the intuition and skills of the individual performing the testing. Experienced engineers can be productive in this mode by mentally performing test cases for the scenarios being exercised.

7. Test Planning

Test planning is a phase in STLC, the main objective of this phase is to prepare a Test Plan document. It includes three major aspects – Scope of Deliverables, Effort estimation, and Resource Plan.

8. Test Documentation

Test documentation is documentation of artifacts created before, during, and after the testing of software.

Test Policy, Test Strategy, RTM, Test Plan, Test Case, Defect Report, Test Metrics Report, and Test Summary Reports are the important Test Documents.

9. Test Execution Level

We have some levels of Test Execution, Smoke Testing, Sanity Testing, Comprehensive Testing, and Regression Testing.

10. Test Deliverables

Test Deliverables refer to a list of documents, tools, and other equipment that must be created, provided, and maintained to support testing activities in a project.

11. Test Closure

Test closure is a set of activities that are performed at the end of the testing process. These are usually performed after the product is delivered, like generating a test report, etc.

12. Maintenance Testing

Once a system is deployed it is in service for years and decades. During this time the system and its operational environment is often corrected, changed or extended. Testing that is provided during this phase is called Maintenance Testing.

Software Testing Terminology for Beginners.

Software Testing (Manual, Selenium, UFT/QTP, JMeter, Java, Python, VBScript, and SQL) Tutorials

1. Manual Testing Tutorial (Document/Text)
Manual Testing Tutorial (Video)

2. Selenium Tutorial (Document/Text)
Selenium Tutorial (Videos)

3. UFT/QTP Tutorial (Document/Text)
UFT/QTP Tutorial (Videos)

4. Apache JMeter Tutorial (Document/Text)
Apache JMeter Tutorial (Videos)

5. SQL Tutorial (Document/Text)
SQL Step by Step Tutorial – Full Course for Beginners (Video)

6. Java Tutorial (Document/Text)
Java Tutorial (Video)

7. Python Tutorial (Document/Text)
Python Tutorial (Video)

8. VBScript Tutorial (Document/Text)
VBScript Tutorial (Videos)

Follow me on social media: